Learn English in the UK or in your own countryspacerUK courses and qualifications in the UK or in your own countryspacerThe best of British arts, media and designspacerPromoting British expertise in science, engineering, technology, environment and healthspacerGovernance and the rights of peoplespacerLibraries, information centres, seminars,  knowledge networks and the information society
What is the British Council?spacerVisit our worldwide network of officesspacerRead all about our collaborative workspacerFind our services, departments, libraries, personnel, etc.
The British Council home page
UK school education system

School education

Funding and management

Structure and curriculum

Examinations and assessment

Quality assurance

Further education

Higher education

Teacher education



  The school education system in England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland is divided into three stages:
  • primary education, up to age eleven
  • secondary education, up to age sixteen
  • tertiary education, for those over the age of sixteen.
'School education' refers to the compulsory phases of education which the law requires children to attend: primary and secondary.

  © British Council, the United Kingdom's international organisation for educational and cultural relations. We are registered in England as a Charity.
Our privacy statement